Youth Filmmakers Showcase

Youth Filmmakers Showcase

The Youth Filmmakers Showcase (YFS) brings together the best film and video made by youth (19 years and under) from across British Columbia. R2R selects all finalists for the YFS. A jury of film industry professionals will deliberate on the finalists and award prizes accordingly. [read more]

2015 Awards

Best Use of Music and/or Sound Award
Prize: VideoMic GO, a Lightweight On-Camera Microphone from RØDE Microphones ($100)
Finalé Best Use of Camera and/or Lighting Award
Prize: Up to 4 hours of online finishing & color correction at Finalé ​Editworks ($1,800)
Winner: TAG
Editing Award
Prize: One-Year Free Access to DOC BC Professional Development Workshops ($960)
Acting Award
Prize: One complimentary set of 25x Headshot Repros at Rocket Reprographics ($60)
Winner: Stephanie Chow for OTHERSIDE (as the drug addicted girl)
Screenwriting Award
Prize: A writer’s mentor session with wrting mentor George Johnson ($200)
Best Direction Award
Prize: A one week rental of the Black Magic Camera from Annex Pro ($1,000)
Animation Award
Prize: One year full subscritpion to Toon Boom Storyboard Software ($1,000)
Best Documentary Award
Prize: One-Day Documentary Workshop at Pull Focus Film School ($119)
Audience Award
Prize: Festival Pass to the 2015 Vancouver Latin American Film Festival ($125)
Best Picture Award
Prize: Non-exclusive international Video Out distribution and inclusion in the new media art collection/archive ​​+ a screening at VIVO Media Arts Centre with a transcribed interview with the artist/producer, to be featured on the VIVO website ($1,000)
Winner: THREE.
​Runner Up: TAG

The films were judged by freelance curator and Art critic at VIVO, Shauna Jean Doherty, MFA, award winning filmmaker and animator, Ann Marie Fleming (Window Horses), and renowned Canadian cinematographer, Tony Westman, DGA, DGC, CSC. Tony is currently teaching cinematography at Emily Carr University of Art and Design.

2014 Awards

Finalé Best Picture Award: Mirrors (password: kodiak)
Jury Recognition for Picture Award:
Director Award:
Folds (password: kodiak)
Jury Recognition for Director Award:
Facebook Terror
Editing Award: Creative Derby
Screenwriting Award:
Lord of the Guys
Acting Award:
Lukas Vanderlip & Marina Lee in Last Fall
Acting Award:
Bailee Trytko in 1 and 5
Best use of Lighting or Camera:
Mirrors (password: kodiak)
Best Use of Music or Sound:
Sampled (password: kodiak)
Artistic Vision Award:
Community (password: kodiak)
Special Jury Award:
Roadsides and Pillowcases
Audience Award: Lord of the Guys

The films were judged by scriptwriter, film educator and story editor Brian Casilio, filmmaker, writer and co-founder of Glass Curtain Pictures, Kathleen Hepburn, and Haydn Wazelle, an independent producer of TV and Cinema.

2013 Awards

Best Picture Award: Autumn Wings
Best Direction:
Where We Sleep
Best Original Screenplay:
Beautiful Bravery
Best Original Screenplay: While the Grown Ups Talk
Best Editing:
Fresh Tracks
Best Sound:
Best Acting:
David Lees in My Name is Jeff
Jury Recognition Award:
The Bucket List
Jury Recognition Award:
O Sinking Ship
Audience Award:

The films were judged by Annat Kennet, Program Manager for the Digital Film Production Program at Langara College; Liz Schulze, Education Manager of The Cinematheque; and filmmaker Avid Virani (Start With Us), co-founder/CEO of I Have Hope in the Fight Against AIDS.

2012 Awards

Best Acting: Sam Massooleh in BlueBerry Haiku
Best Editing: Pace
Best Directing: Air Pressure
Best Original Screenplay: Blueberry Haiku
Best Picture: Time to Remember
Best Sound: Reclaim
Audience Award:
Just Sayin’
Special Mention – Original use of Mixed Media: Compromise
Special Mention – Best Documentary: Britney

The films were judged by Emily Carr University Instructor and Award Winning Director Jonathan Tammuz, Stephanie Damgaard the Associate Programmer of the Canadian Images Program at the Vancouver International Film Festival, and Filmmaker/Producer Jennifer Somerstein.


2011 Awards

Best Acting: A Teenage Romance
Best Direction:
Pictures of the Past Tense
Best Sound:
I Don’t Wanna Go to High School!
Best Original Screenplay:
A Teenage Romance
Best Picture:
Pictures of the Past Tense
Audience Award:
Pictures of the Past Tense
Audience Award
(runner up): In the Mind’s Eye

The films were judged by film producer Jennifer Somerstein, George Johnston, instructor at the Centre for Digital Media, and filmmaker Bruce Sweeney.


2010 Awards

Best Acting: Texture for Violincello and Pianoforte No. 2
Best Direction:
Until The Sun Sets
Best Sound:
Astornuts: Lunar Mission
Best Original Screenplay:
My Hero
Best Picture:
Until The Sun Sets
Audience Award:
Astornuts: Lunar Mission